top of page
Search

Blog 10- Sight


Hey guys, I hope you are having a very merry Christmas and joyous holidays. If this may not be the case for you then I still hope you are having a pleasant day! This will be my last blog for now, after this I will just take a break for a bit and I will also be looking forward to seeing some interactions with my blog if that is possible! If I see more people intrigued then I will plan something new for another blog. We have raised a lot of money during this time and I couldn’t have done it without you all! Today, the eve of Christmas eve, I am going to talk about Mahraj Ali who is an Afghan boy and lives with his family (father, mother, 5 sisters and one brother) in a district in Muzaffarabad, Azad Kashmir. His father works as a waste picker (along with his son) and his mother is a housewife. He has an angelic face and is, unfortunately, typically quite small for his age. Luckily, his father came up to Children First for help.


The eyes are powerful things, just right after the heart and mind I would say. The eyes have the power to make us see the world and give us something to perceive in our minds. Without them we wouldn’t have anything to perceive things around us...or at least not fully because we can still do this with our noses, mouths, and ears but for me the eyes are really important for some reason. They can change things almost instantly. Maybe this is why as soon as something gets modified in the physical structure of the eyes we become disturbed when looking at them and maybe even scared (referring to horror movies or things as such).


Mahraj Ali’s eyes are immense and reassemble swimming pools of caramel and cocoa along with a hint of honey. The pupils are dark and deep, tunnels leading to the outside world, and framing these beautiful colors are thick eyelashes that form a dark line almost around them. They seem wise despite the age of the little boy and it is quite a pity that these shiny, lively eyes see their only world as it is. These eyes, along with all the others, do not deserve what they see in front of them, they are worthy of so much more. The eyes need to widen with joy when the mouths laugh and teeth gleam. They need to close peacefully when their ears listen to the sweet notes of songs and lullabies and they need to crease a little bit at the corners with a smile when the nose sniffs at good aromas of fresh food placed right there, for them.


Hopefully, the eyes will see a better future, especially with the help you all have given me. This boy is still smiling thankfully and with your help, he and others will continue smiling and not just their mouths, but the eyes too! They will hopefully keep surviving, keep fighting for their future while we help them, keep dreaming, keep laughing all in the hopes that they too will be found some day. It will only be for certain when more people start to realize what world we are ALL living in and not only their own little bubbles. This may take a bit for some to do but I do not stop for anything and certainly Children First will not. I will keep going and I will be glad if you would be willing to help me. Not me, these children. I will end with a quote from Helen Keller, “The only thing worse than being blind is having sight but not vision”. Thank you all, have a very delightful rest of the day/evening!


Have a happy new year! (Hopefully some things will go back to normal at some point next year!)

Bye for now!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog 9-Survivor

Hello reader, It is in fact the ninth blog and I am really touched by every story I have read of every child so far. They all, even if different, send out the same message and that is that they are al

Blog 8-The two sides

Hey! We have come a long way but I still feel I haven’t said enough! Words just tumble out accompanied by feelings! Rimsha Bibi is a girl. She lives with her mother and father as well as her siblings

Blog 7-Future

Hello once again and I am back with another important story in my clutches. There is a boy called Mohammad Din (he is also Afghan) and he lives with his family and 4 siblings in a village called Sundg

bottom of page